Redirection

Hi to everyone coming over from my other blog!

*crickets*

OK, ok, I know there’s not exactly teams of people stampeding my virtual door, but when my Dad mentioned that he had found my OTHER blog, the one I don’t post to any more, I realized that I should redirect people over to this one, so they can continue reading my stuff, if they are so inclined. I also changed over the link from my website, to make sure.

Had a talk with Kathy this morning, and went over a big insight of mine that I had… that she pointed out I had previously had about 6 months ago. So, I guess that makes it a kind of “recycled” insight. At least I’m helping the environment…

Anyway, I realized that sometimes I want to write, but not Thruspace. I desperately don’t want to let Thruspace fall through the cracks like State of Mind did, but, at the same time, I don’t want to either stifle my creativity by slogging through writing Thruspace that day just to get something done, or, worse, not write ANYTHING and get out of the habit. So… I’m not going to worry about it. I’m going to write, each and every day, but it’s not going to necessarily be Thruspace.

I think I’m going to try some short stories. Come up with an idea and just blow through it quick. It’ll be nice to actually have a completed project, instead of all these half-formed things lumping around in the basement… See? that gave me a story idea. Not necessarily a FULL story, or even a short story necessarily, but kind of a “middle”.

That’s what I’ll do. I’ll make “Middles” Like Monty Python sketches… they never used to bother with beginnings, or endings, they just did the funny middle parts, and moved on to the next idea. That’s what I’ll do. If I’m not working on a short story, or a novel, I’ll do a middle of some idea that randomly hit me, and flex my writing muscles that way. No worries, or stress, just writing whatever. A Middle.

I think I’ll do one now…

*Edit* – Finished one, called The Dungeon. I like it. Kathy had a brilliant idea (as she often does). These aren’t middles, they’re swatches. Webster’s defines “swatch” thusly:

swatch (swch) n.

1. A sample strip cut from a piece of material.

2. A representative portion; a sample

I couldn’t agree more. So, swatches they are.

Leave a Reply

